J. Edgar Hoover would never have let this happen

I realize I’m a few months behind the times, but this blog didn’t exist when this comic came out.

In JSA (sorry: JSoA) #1, former FBI agent Trey Thompson, grandson of the original Mr. America, tells us how he sought revenge on a killer that had gone free on a technicality, and was subsequently fired from the Bureau. Don’t worry, though: he still fights crime, acting as a special investigator called in for the tough cases. That sounds fine, right?

Thing is, he dresses like this:

Mr America

Would the FBI really call this guy to help them solve crimes? He mentions, in the scene that follows his dramatic entrance, that his old partner is pretending not to recognize him under the mask. I’m thinking the whole FBI is pretending not to recognize him under that mask. I can’t help but envision the following exchange:

“Hey, it’s Thompson.”

“Jesus… Why is he dressed like that?”

“Don’t stare!”

“Why not?”

“We’re not supposed to know it’s him.”

“What? How can we not know it’s him? He’s standing right there with a tiny little mask over his eyes. Do I become unrecognizable when I wear my sunglasses?”

“I know, I know. Just… He took losing his job really hard.”

“So he dresses up in a cape?”

“…Yeah.”

“Does he have any powers? Any superpowers, I mean?”

“No, of course not.”

“Then what the f–k is he doing dressed like that?”

“Shut up, shut up, he’s coming over here.”

 

And so on.

Leave a comment

Filed under JSA

Leave a Reply

