Matters of economy

A friend sent me a link to this blog by towniebastard, in which he rails against the injustice of Marvel’s pricing policy when it comes to poor Canadians fans like us. All I can say is, brother, I feel your pain.

I recall, a while back, Joe Quesada saying something was going to be done about the price disparity. I might be wrong, but I don’t think this shift has hit the tracks yet. We’re still paying more than we should for our books. I always feel doubly ripped off when you consider that the books are all printed in Canada. Pretty much every comic you have ever read was given physical form north of the border, so c’mon, we should at least be getting a bit of a break.

I too, have fallen in with online booksellers. I don’t really like it, because I love my local shop and I want to support them as much as possible, but sometimes they just can’t compete with the discounts given by the online retailers. And if you’re getting up to 40% off a properly-adjusted Canadian cover price, with free shipping, it is very, very hard to go down to the local shop and plunk out a bunch more money for the same book.

I long for a day (not too far around the corner, if things keep going like they are, economy-wise) when there’s no US and Canadian price on the books, there’s just a price. And everyone’s a winner.

Leave a comment

Filed under soap box

Leave a Reply

