ceebeegeebee at the racks, June 10 2007

Detective Comics #833: 😐 I think I might be 100% alone on this, but I haven’t been a fan of Dini’s run on Detective Comics.  I think part of it might be that I was promised J.H. Williams III and got Don Kramer.  I think mostly it’s that the stories have lacked punch.  There hasn’t been much in the way of entertainment value for me, and this issue is the same.  It’s not a bad issue, per se, but it just doesn’t do anything for me.  The story seems really dated: there aren’t that many stage magicians these days, and one that caused that much mayhem on stage would be shut down right away.

Punisher #48: 🙂 This is an arc that I’m sure will read better as a collection.  This issue feels a bit disjointed, but keeps up the pace of the story and maintains the quality dialogue.  If I have one complaint it would be that Frank Castle hasn’t had much to do for the last couple of issues.  Lan Medina’s art is a highlight.  His characters emote really well.

Midnighter #8:  😦 This title had a strong start to it with Ennis’ arc and Brian Vaughn’s issue, but this one doesn’t work.  John Paul Leon’s does the job, but Christos Gage’s story?  Not so much.  It feels like a Batman story with a bit of killing added.  The Midnighter teleports a bad guy to Interpol.  Since when does the Midnighter lock up bad guys?  I keep hearing good things about Gage, so I’m looking forward to reading something of his I enjoy, but this issue ain’t it.

Black Summer #0: 🙂 Warren Ellis tells us Juan Jose Ryp can pencil and ink a whole page in a single day.  If that’s true, this guy is some kind of lunatic.  His pages are packed with the kind of incredible detail you have to see to believe.  Storywise, Ellis teases us with the promise of an intelligent, violent take on superheroes.  His concepts are always fascinating, and this one is no exception.

Leave a comment

Filed under at the racks

Leave a Reply

