ceebeegeebee at the racks, June 24 2007

Brave and the Bold #4 šŸ™‚ It’s been said before, but this title is the most fun you can have in the DCU these days. I wasn’t really sold on it until this issue, whichlobo-sez-gizz.jpg features Lobo and Supergirl tear-assing around the galaxy while Blue Beetle deals with a half-cyborg Batman. One point of procedure, however: are they allowed to say gizz in all-ages comics now?

Captain America #27 šŸ™‚ You wouldn’t think a book could have this much life following the murder of the title character. Despite the inevitable outcome of the Winter Soldier’s quest, I can’t help but root for him. Is there anyone left who actually likes Tony Stark?

Incredible Hulk #107 šŸ™‚ Speaking of not liking Tony Stark, Amadeus Cho continues his quest to help The Hulk with his war. After this issue, I want Greg Pak to write a Hercules miniseries, even if it’s just him in an internet cafe.

Chronicles of Wormwood #4 šŸ™‚ In this issue, we finally find out what happened to Hitler. I continue to enjoy this series, although I’m not entirely sure why Satan and Jacko are working together. Ennis shows once again how easily he can switch gears from the profane to the touching. I wish there were more writers as talented as this.

Ex Machina #29 šŸ˜ It’s not that I didn’t like this issue, I just felt like the ending was a bit of a, well, deus ex machina. To have the mysterious stranger (spoiler alert, folks) simply teleport away was a letdown for me. I really enjoyed the coda, however: a flashback to Hundred’s exploits on 9/11. I remain a stalwart fan of this series.

Leave a comment

Filed under at the racks, batman, bkv, DC, garth ennis, hulk, marvel

Leave a Reply

